Jump to content

Welcome to Mariner Central
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

How can a 8 - 2 DP also be a SF?

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic



    Tacoma Aroma Homa

  • Members
  • 13,054 posts
  • Gender:Male
When I was young they used to have a feature called, "You be the Umpire." While the outcome of the game today was nothing to write about, this one play was interesting. Situation: The Bees are batting with Luis Jimenez on first and Ryan Langerhans on third and one out. Efron Navaro hits a fly ball to Trayvon Robinson in center field. Ryan tags up and Luis goes half way between first and second.

Trayvon catches the ball, but then drops it. Ryan takes off for home, and Trayvon picks up the ball and throws it home. Ryan scores, but the umpire rules Efron out because he felt that Trayvon had held the ball long enough. The Bees seemed to have a different opinion, Efron went to first base and Luis went to second base.

Guillermo Quiroz, the catcher sees the whole play, runs down to first base, and steps on it. The first base umpire calls the runner out, but no one, not even Curto figured out what happened until next inning. The Rainiers got lucky because they got two outs and the inning ended with only one run scored on the play. Efron did get credit for a SF and no AB, but it was also a DP for the Rainiers.

Edited by Vidya, 08 April 2012 - 06:32 PM.

  • 1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users