Welcome to Mariner Central
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

NFL 2010

• Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

Pirata Morado

Pirata Morado
  • Members
  • 9,016 posts
  • Interests:Statistics, Theatre, Alan Parsons music, Astronomy, and of course, Mariners Baseball.
You know me, I can't help it, I make stochastic models for a living.

This time I did a stoachastic model for the NFL.

How's the model built? It's based on 2009 data, for obivous reasons, and as the season develops I will update the model using 2010 data.

What does it simulate? It simulates the touchdowns + extra points + field goals + safeties each team will score on each game, thus obtaining the total points each team will score in each game.

How does it do it? Simple. Each team scored last year in several ways, rushing TD, passing TD, special teams TD, defensive TD, FG, Extra Points (2pt. conversion) and Safeties. Each team also allowed scores on each of these ways.

Let's look for instance at the Seahawks. They scored 7 rushing TD, 20 passing TD, 0 Special Teams TD, 3 Defensive TD, 24 Field Goals and 0 Safeties, while converting 100% of their Extra Points. So we can get gamely rates by simply dividing each of the above by 16 (total games). So the Seahawks scoring rates are the following:

Rush TD = 7 / 16 = 0.438
Pass TD = 1.25
ST TD = 0
Def TD = 0.188
FG = 1.5
Safety = 0

They also have some different rates but for their scoring allowed.

So I then combined the scoring rates of each team with the rival's allowing rates for each matchup.